Rulers of Bahrain Listen to this page using ReadSpeaker

facebook twitter linkedin mail share

Constitutional Framework

Since the 18th century, the head of the Al Khalifa, the country's ruling family, has assumed the title of Amir. A constitution promulgated in 2002 established Bahrain as a constitutional hereditary monarchy whose head of state is now titled king. Under the new constitution the executive is composed of a prime minister, who is head of the government, and a Council of Ministers, all of whom are appointed by the king. The legislative branch consists of two houses: a 40-member Consultative Council that is also appointed by the king and a 40-member Chamber of Deputies that is elected by universal adult suffrage.

Rulers of Bahrain

Rulers of Bahrain Since 1783 Year
Ahmad Al Fateh 1783-1796
Abdullah bin Ahmad Al Khalifa 1796-1843
Salman bin Ahmad Al Khalifa 1796-1825
Khalifah bin Salman Al Khalifa 1825-1834
Muhammad bin Khalifa Al Khalifa 1834-1869
Muhammad bin Abdullah Al Khalifa 1869
Isa bin Ali Al Khalifa 1869-1932
Hamad bin Isa Al Khalifa 1932-1942
Salman bin Hamad Al Khalifa 1942-1961
Isa bin Salman Al Khalifa 1961-1999
Hamad bin Isa Al Khalifa 1999 to date

Page Last Updated: 14 Mar, 2018